The Scarlet Letter

Listen to the companion podcast at Think About It.
The Scarlet Letter

In colonial New England, beautiful, young Hester Pryne bears a child although her husband is presumed lost at sea. She refuses to name the father and is condemned to wear a scarlet “A” and live as an outcast. As she transforms the badge of shame into a symbol of freedom, Hawthorne’s dramatic masterpiece envisions an authentic relation between the sexes—and a different way of imagining love, sin, and redemption—that can form the basis for America’s radical project of a true democracy.

Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804-1864) was born in Salem, Massachusetts, as the direct descendant of Puritan settlers from England. While employed in other professions, he became one of America’s greatest writers by probing our nation’s political and moral commitments in haunting tales and novels that wrestle with the deep themes of sin, guilt, and redemption.

Ulrich Baer holds degrees from Harvard and Yale, and teaches at New York University. The recipient of Guggenheim, Getty, and Humboldt fellowships, his books include: Rilke’s The Dark Interval, Letters on Life; Spectral Evidence, What Snowflakes Get Right, and with Warbler Press: Nietzsche on Love, Dickinson on Love, and Rilke on Love.

Carol Gilligan is the author of the groundbreaking book, In a Different Voice. In 1997 she became the first gender studies professor at Harvard and she now teaches at New York University. She has been awarded Spencer, Grawemeyer, and Heinz Awards and named one of the twenty-five most influential Americans by Time magazine. Recent works include The Birth of Pleasure, Kyra: A Novel, The Deepening Darkness, The Scarlet Letter (a play), Why Does Patriarchy Persist? (with Naomi Snider), and Darkness Now Visible (with David J. Richards).

“There could not be a more perfect work of the American imagination.”
D. H. Lawrence

Price:  $11.95 (paperback) | $2.99 (ebook)
Pages: 270 pages
Book dimensions: 5.25 x 0.6 x 8 inches
Published: February 26, 2020
978-1734588187 (paperback)
978-1-7345881-9-4 (ebook)